Six Times African Giants Missed Out On The World Cup

Posted by

Ed Dove recalls Africa’s giants failing to qualify on the world’s largest stage six times.

Nigeria 2006

Since their debut in 1994, the Super Eagles have only missed the World Cup once, in 2006, when they were upset by Angola en way to Germany.

In a six-team Group 4, the two teams had similar performances, and despite scoring more goals and having a better goal difference, Nigeria was undone by their head-to-head record with the Lusophone country.

Angola qualified for the World Cup with a 1-0 Akwa-inspired win over the Eagles in Luanda, while Nigeria failed to defeat Angola in Kano.

Cameroon 2018

The Champions of Africa’s Curse

After Egypt failed to qualify for the World Cup following their Nations Cup victory, 2012 winners Zambia dropped out in 2014, and 2017 champions Cameroon failed to qualify for the 2018 event.

The Indomitable Lions, like Algeria, were unfortunate to be drawn into a difficult group, but they were thrashed by Nigeria and failed to build on their 2017 victory under Hugo Broos.

The Lions had a poor showing in their six-game group round, winning only one game.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *