Photos: Edo Election: Oshiomhole Taunted After Loss

Posted by

Some Nigerians have taken to social media to share hilarious memes in reaction to the outcome of the Edo gubernatorial election. Godwin Obaseki, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), was on Sunday re-elected as governor of the state for second time after securing the highest votes in the election which was held on Saturday. He polled 307,955 votes across 18 local government areas while Osagie Ize-Iyamu, his main challenger and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), got 223,619 votes.

Obaseki’s journey to triumph wasn’t a smooth ride. During his campaign, Obaseki’s strategy to mobilise Edo residents to vote for him had touched on ending godfatherism in the state. The politician had also adopted the slogan “Edo no be Lagos” shortly after he left the APC to seek re-election under the platform of the PDP. Before defection, he had met Bola Tinubu, a national leader of the APC, for endorsement as the party’s candidate but the former Lagos governor had referred him to the direct primaries endorsed by the party.

After the governor went through the direct primaries as recommended, he was disqualified by the committee set-up by Adams Oshiomhole, his estranged godfather, who doubles as his predecessor. A few days to the election, Tinubu, who was among the APC leaders who campaigned for Obaseki when he was elected for first term under the party, had in a sponsored broadcast on TVC, urged Edo residents to vote out the governor.

In his response to the broadcast, Obaseki had tackled the ex-governor of Lagos, saying he cannot extend his political empire to Edo state. He had, thereafter, pledged to end godfatherism in Edo and Lagos, saying that “democracy is not a government of godfathers but of the people.” Since Obaseki’s victory at the poll, quite a number of Nigerians have taken to social media platforms to share extremely amusing memes to mock Oshiomhole, Tinubu and Ize-Iyamu. Below are some of the memes:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *